Wednesday Date Night

This was a beautiful day! The temperature was so mild that only a light jacket was required and the sky was the most fabulous blue all day. Date night was equally perfect!

IMG_2999
The snow is gone now and there was no rain so I could wear my favorite booties from Nordstrom. They are by Vince Camuto and they have sky-high heels with a gold trimmed platform. High heels are still my guilty little pleasure! I feel so feminine and special when I wear them.

IMG_3000a

Tip: I never wear light colored pants in wet weather since it causes dark little water drop stains on the backs of your pants as you walk.

IMG_3001

The necklace is one of my own designs. The ring is old from Stein Mart. The bag is from T. J. Maxx from a few years ago. I always buy unique evening clutches when I find them. For less than twenty dollars, you can really upgrade your look for evening.
IMG_2996

I was sold by the belt detail construction on the back of this jacket. It visually cinches in the back for a more feminine silhouette. This jacket was purchased a few days ago at Coldwater Creek from their fabulous end of season sale. The pants are my favorite side zip style from Talbots also from the end of season sale. I’m wearing a sleek long sleeve slim fitting black tee under the jacket. Foundation tees or tanks made from thin silky material are great to wear with jackets when only the neckline shows. I wouldn’t wear them by themselves since they hug everything a bit too much but as a foundation they are perfect.

Since my top half is a full two sizes larger than my bottom half, I often wear a dark color on the top and lighter color on the bottom. This helps to visually balance my body.

IMG_3003

By the time Mickey arrives for our winter date nights, the only good lighting happens to be in my dining room.

IMG_3005

Dinner was the perfect ending to the day. That’s a goat cheese and arugula salad with Pinot Grigio I’m enjoying. We talked nonstop for two hours while we enjoyed our meal at our favorite restaurant in town, Gourmet and Company. When you are in Johnson City be sure to stop there for dinner. The first entrée on their menu is vegetarian and named after Mickey!

We have plans for a great weekend which will provide much more interesting backdrops for photos.

Thank you for reading.
I hope you have a great rest of the week!

About fiftynot2

My first venture as a business owner was a consulting firm named 'Career Image', which also included public speaking and appearances at seminars throughout the southeast United States to present the concept of using your best colors and clothing shapes to build a wardrobe that will work for you in any situation. I conducted personal consultations at the client's closet and accompanied them on well planned shopping trips afterward. My current position evolved after being a professional boutique jewelry designer for more than ten years. As the President of Vintage Jewelry Supplies Company I still must know current trends in fashion and buy what is needed to fit those trends months in advance.
This entry was posted in Fifty, not Frumpy, Style after 50 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

